BangladeshPost placeholder

New Delhi Correspondent
The stage is set for polling in the second phase of Indian general elections covering 97 Lok Sabha constituencies spread across 12 States and a federally-administered territory today (Thursday).
Over 15.79 crore voters are eligible to exercise their rights in the second phase to decide fate of 1,629 candidates. More than 181,000 polling booths have been set up for smooth conduct of polls.

Tamil Nadu will be the main point of interest in the second phase of polling as all the 39 constituencies will witness voting in the southern state where ruling All India Anna Dravida Munnetra Kazagham-BJP led alliance is pitted against opposition Dravida Munnetra Kazagham-Congress combine. Tamil Nadu has the fifth highest number of parliamentary seats after Uttar Pradesh, Maharashtra, West Bengal and Bihar.
Polling will also be held on Thursday in five out of the total 14 constituencies in Assam and these include Karimganj and Silchar.

The state of Karnataka will go to the polls in Phase 2 of the general elections. Out of total 28 parliamentary seats, only14 are scheduled to go to polls in this phase. The state has a two-phase polling and has a total electorate of 2.63 crore.
Bihar will go to polls in the second phase of general elections on and voting will be held in 5 constituencies of Kishanganj, Katihar, Purnia, Bhagalpur and Banka.
The first phase of polling in parliamentary elections covering 91 constituencies was held on April 11 drawing a voter turnout of slightly more than 69 per cent. Five more phases of voting will be held till May 19 before the vote-counting is taken up on May 23.